Tennis Clubs receive generous energy grants funded by Government

Tennis Clubs receive generous energy grants funded by Government

Tennis Clubs receive generous energy grants funded by Government

Tennis Club treasurers throughout the Republic of Ireland have been smiling over recent weeks as government grants of over €361,000 hit their accounts.

The grants were paid out by Tennis Ireland under the Sports Energy Support Scheme (SESS), a scheme put in place to help clubs cope with the increase in energy costs over the Winter of 2022-2023.

As the funds were dispersed, Kevin Quinn, CEO of Tennis Ireland said:  

‘It’s a long time since Tennis in Ireland has been just a Summer, outdoor sport, so we are delighted to have been able to help our clubs cope with what was a very expensive Winter, energy-wise. We are also grateful to the Government and Sport Ireland, not just for the support, but also for having drawn everyone’s attention to this issue by initiating the scheme. Some of the amounts paid out were very substantial and make a strong case for every club to look at their energy costs and see where they can make savings or become more sustainable.’

The scheme was designed to compensate clubs for the extra cost of energy between September 1st, 2022, and March 31st, 2023, compared to the same 7-month timeframe between 2019 and 2020, and were paid out on the basis of proven receipts.

In all, 63 Tennis clubs benefitted, with grants ranging from €221 to Kilkenny Tennis Club, to over €31,000 to St Anne’s in Waterford.

Referring to his club’s big pay-day, President of St Anne’s Waterford Tennis Club, Larry O’Brien, said: ‘To say this has made the case for us to do something about our energy infrastructure is putting it mildly. We are very proud of our club and our activity level, but this shows how much it is all costing, compared to other clubs which have managed to modernise. Our heating, glazing and insulation are old, and expensive, and it is time for change. We are already putting together a plan for a more energy efficient, sustainable future, and we are very grateful to Tennis Ireland, both for helping with that, and also for this welcome injection of cash.’

No clubs in Northern Ireland were eligible for funding under the scheme as, although tennis is an All-Ireland sport, government support for clubs there comes through Sport Northern Ireland and the Department of Communities.  

Commenting on how welcome an equivalent scheme would be, William Noteman Chairman of Ulster Branch Tennis Ireland said,  ‘We are of course delighted to see Tennis being supported in this way, and we would love to see similar support here in Northern Ireland’. 


Notes to Editors…

The full list of grants is below, with a further provincial break-down underneath.


Abbeyleix Tennis Club        1,016.10
Athlone Tennis Club CLG           435.16
Bective LTC 2,624.95
Bishopstown        3,388.36
Butt Hall Tennis Club        1,186.95
Carlow Lawn Tennis Club        8,120.17
Carrigaline Tennis Club        6,345.16
Castleknock Lawn Tennis Club     24,405.50
Castleview Lawn Tennis Club        3,830.50
Causeway Tennis & Bowls Club        4,212.41
Cavan Lawn Tennis Club           922.26
Celbridge and District Lawn Tennis Club        4,572.98
Charleville LTC 3,751.24
Claremont Railway LTC        4,067.94
Claremorris LTC 1,925.97
Clontarf Lawn Tennis Club     11,704.27
County Tipperary Lawn Tennis Club           905.67
Donnybrook Lawn Tennis Club     15,304.46
Douglas Lawn Tennis Club        4,143.31
DROMAHANE TENNIS CLUB           379.19
Ennis Lawn Tennis & Badminton Club        2,442.45
Fitzwilliam Lawn Tennis Club     16,094.66
Galway Lawn Tennis Club     28,240.73
Glenageary Lawn Tennis Club        1,043.87
Greystones Lawn Tennis Club     14,006.21
Kells Tennis Club           936.15
Kilfeacle Community Tennis Club        1,148.96
Kilkenny Tennis Club           221.21
Kilternan Parish Lawn Tennis Club           822.26
Kinsale Tennis Club        5,484.45
Lansdowne LTC 1,852.07
Larkspur Park Sports Complex           730.49
Leinster Cricket Club 13,966.60
Limerick Lawn Tennis Club        9,976.54
Lower Aghada Tennis and Sailing Club        1,897.18
Meadow Vale Tennis Club        6,806.68
Mitchelstown Tennis Club 4,447.96
Monkstown LTC        6,636.12
Mount Pleasant LTC 11,752.61
Mullingar Tennis & Badminton Club        4,902.19
Naas Lawn Tennis Club        6,314.41
Navan Tennis Club 3,193.41
new Inn Community Tennis Club           625.27
Newtownpark Tennis Club 820.10
North Kildare Tennis Club        3,697.55
Portumna Lawn tennis Club        1,579.76
Puckane Tennis Club        1,771.08
Rathangan Tennis Club        1,645.01
Roscrea Tennis Club CLG        1,825.46
Rushbrooke Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club CLG     10,324.85
Sandycove Tennis and Squash Club        6,042.27
Shankill Tennis Club     11,239.26
Sligo Tennis Club     10,900.00
St Anne’s Waterford Tennis Club     31,033.86
St Mary’s LTC, Donnybrook        7,225.15
Stackallen Lawn Tennis Club        2,137.46
Swords LTC 444.35
Templeogue Tennis Club        7,737.19
Tullamore Tennis Club           434.79
Tullow and South Leinster Tennis and Sports Club        1,200.08
Wexford Harbour B&TC 7,706.63
Wicklow Tennis Club        5,448.79
Youghal Lawn Tennis Club Limited        1,080.54
Total   €361,079.21


Claremorris 1,925.97
Galway 28,240.73
Portumna 1,579.76
Sligo 10,900.00
TOTAL: €42,646.46



Abbeyleix 1,016.10
Athlone 435.16
Bective 2,624.95
Carlow 8,120.17
Castleknock 24,405.50
Cavan 922.26
Celbridge 4,572.98
Charleville 3,751.24
Claremont 4,067.94
Clontarf 11,704.27
Donnybrook 15,304.46
Fitzwilliam 16,094.66
Glenageary 1,043.87
Greystones 14,006.21
Kells 936.15
Kilkenny 221.21
Kilternan 822.26
Lansdowne 1,852.07
Leinster Cricket Club 13,966.60
Meadow Vale 6,806.68
Monkstown 6,636.12
Mount Pleasant 11,752.61
Mullingar 4,902.19
Naas 6,314.41
Navan 3,193.41
Newtown Park 820.10
Nth Kildare 3,697.55
Rathangan 1,645.01
Sandycove 6,042.27
Shankill 11,239.26
St Mary’s 7,225.15
Stackallen 2,137.46
Swords 444.35
Templeogue 7,737.19
Tullamore 434.79
Tullow 1,200.08
Wexford Harbour 7,706.63
Wickow 5,448.79
TOTAL: €221,252.11


Bishopstown 3,388.36
Carrigaline 6,345.16
Castleview 3,830.50
Causeway 4,212.41
Co Tipperary 905.67
Douglas 4,143.31
Dromahane 379.19
Ennis 2,442.45
Kilfeacle 1,148.96
Kinsale 5,484.45
Larkspur 730.49
Limerick 9,976.54
Lower Aghada 1,897.18
Mitchelstown 4,447.96
New Inn 625.27
Puckane 1,771.08
Roscrea 1,825.46
Rushbrooke 10,324.85
St Anne’s 31,033.86
Youghal 1,080.54
TOTAL: €95,993.69


Butt Hall 1,186.95
TOTAL: €1,186.95


Keep Reading

Read all news from Tennis Ireland and keep up to date. 

Heading Example

Sub heading

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.