Annual Awards Event 2016

Annual Awards Event 2016

Tennis Ireland celebrated 2015 with an awards ceremony held at Fitzwilliam LTC on Friday last.

The annual O’Shee Awards which are presented to the junior male and female player were awarded to Simon Carr and Georgia Drummy. These awards were presented by Marjorie O’Shee and accepted by Simon’s parents Tommy and Mary Carr and Georgia’s parents Aisling and Victor Drummy.

The Maunsell award is presented to the outstanding male and female Senior player of the year and the recipients were James McGee and Jenny Claffey, both players reaching career high world rankings for 2015.

These awards were received on their behalf by Kieran Magee and Breda and John Claffey.

The Raymund Egan award was presented by Frank Egan to Joe Flood for his lifetime service to tennis.

Former Fed Cup players Gina Niland, Karen Nugent and Yvonne Doyle were also honoured on the night for their distinguished achievements representing Ireland in the Fed Cup.


The AIG inaugural Tennis Media award was presented by John Boylan (AIG) to the Irish Times Sports journalist Johnny Waterson.