South Africa defeat Ireland 5-0 in crucial Davis Cup relegation tie

South Africa defeat Ireland 5-0 in crucial Davis Cup relegation tie

Click here to view live scores

SOUTH AFRICA defeat IRELAND in Davis Cup by BNP Paribas

South Africa have defeated Ireland 5-0 and Ireland have been relegated to Euro/Africa Zone Group III for 2016 after a straight sets loss in Saturdays crucial doubles match at the Irene Country Club in Centurion.

The Irish pairing of James Cluskey and David O’Hare had the difficult task of keeping the tie alive on Saturday after Ireland lost Fridays two singles matches. In a tight first set the Irish pair went down in the tiebreak and never recovered losing the rubber in straight sets 76 64 63.

In Sundays reverse singles, Irish number 1 James McGee lost to Tucker Vorster in straight sets 61 75 and Sam Barry lost to the South African No 3 Ruan Roelofse 64 63

In Fridays singles matches the No 2 South Africa player Fritz Wolmarans (ATP ranking 477) defeated the Irish No 1 James McGee in 4 sets 76(0) 16 63 64.

In the second singles match on Friday Ireland’s Sam Barry faced the South African No 1 Tucker Vorster and lost in a tight match over 4 sets 61 67(4) 76(5) 64

Saturdays doubles match sees the Irish pairing of James Cluskey and David O’Hare against Ruan Roelofse and Dean O’Brien.

AIG Irish Davis Cup Team Airport
Ireland lost both their previous outings against the South Africans and need a win to avoid dropping into Europe Zone Group III for the first time since 2007.

Friday 17th July: 09.30hrs (08.30am Irish time)

Match 1 – Fritz Wolmarans def James McGee
76(0) 16 63 64.

Match 2 – Tucker Vorster def Sam Barry
61 67(4) 76(5) 64

Saturday 18th July: 12.00hrs (11.00am Irish time)

Dean O’Brien/Ruan Roelofse def James Cluskey/David O’Hare
76 64 63

Sunday 19th July: 09.30hrs (08.30am Irish time)

Tucket Vorster def James McGee
61 75

Ruan Roelofse def Sam Barry
64 63

The team nominations are as follows:-

James McGee (ATP 150)
Sam Barry (ATP 425)
James Cluskey (ATP doubles 150)
David O’Hare (ATP doubles 246

South Africa                            
Tucker Vorster (ATP 334)
Ruan Roelofse (ATP 421)
Fritz Wolmarans (ATP 477)
Dean O’Brien (ATP doubles 164)

Live scores available from and updates will be available through Twitter and Facebook