National Spring Matchplays 2009

National Spring Matchplays 2009

The 2009 National Spring Championships took place in several different venues around the country last weekend (27th – 29th April) and saw the cream of the regional matchplay events compete on the national stage. Proceedings took place in Galway LTC (U10s), Rushbrooke LTCC Cork (U12s), Leopardstown TC Dublin (U14s), and Causeway TC Waterford (U16s).


The Rushbrooke club saw local girl Emily Daly take home top spot in the Girls Under 12 competition as she came through against Dublin’s Julie Byrne in a tight final, eventually winning 6-4, 4-6, 13-11. The Boys Under 12’s final was just as tight as No. 3 seed Neil Chambers upset No. 1 seed, Morgan Lohan winning out by 2-6, 7-6, 10-6.


The Under 14s event in Leopardstown saw Ulster’s Megan McGreevy and Leinster’s Eoin McGovern share the spoils at the Dublin venue. Megan enjoyed a good win in the final over Riverview’s Sara Twomey, winning in straight sets 6-1, 6-0, while Kilkenny’s Eoin McGovern was awarded top spot when No.1 seed Bill Murray was forced to withdraw before the final.


Dungarven, Waterford was the venue for the Under 16s tournament as Causeway TC hosted the weekends proceedings. No. 1 seed in the Girls draw, Sinead Kennedy, was this years Under 16 Girls champion as she defeated Sally McHugh 6-3, 6-2. Unseeded Killian McCarthy took home the honours in the final of the Boys Under 16 competition against Ross Campbell, the Sunday’s Well club member wrapped up the tie in straight sets 6-1, 6-2.


For a full breakdown of the 2009 National Spring Championships click here