Davis Cup: IRL vs EGY

  • Davis Cup 2012 Draws Announced









McGee the hero of Davis Cup by BNP Paribas tie against Egypt
It took 22 sets of tennis to separate BNP PARIBAS Irish team and Egypt in this tie, played in 40 degrees of heat in Cairo and also lasting through to midday on Monday 9th April.  
Last men standing were James McGee and Sherif Sabry who played a five set thriller which started at 2.30pm on Sunday afternoon. Bad light on Sunday evening forced the suspension of play and on the resumption on Monday morning Sabry levelled the tie at 2 rubbers each and two sets all in the deciding rubber. The usual quota of Davis Cup high drama then ensued, with McGee racing ahead on a 5-2 scoreline, only to have Sabry fight his way back into the match as he served at 4-5. McGee took advantage of some tight serving on the part of the Egyptian and had three match points...he took the third one and clinched the tie with a diving forehand drop volley. Minutes later the BNP PARIBAS Irish team were in the hotel pool and it is reported that some beers were used for rehydration purposes.
Full tie results

R1: James McGee defeated Karim Maamoun 2-6, 6-4, 6-2, 7-5
R2: Sherif Sabry defeated Conor Niland 2-6, 6-1, 6-0, 6-2
R3: James McGee/Sam Barry defeated Karim Maamoun/Sherif Sabry 3-6, 7-6(3), 6-2, 7-6(3)
R4: Karim Maamoun defeated Sam Barry 6-3, 7-6(4), 6-1, 1-6, 6-4
R5: James McGee defeated Sherif Sabry 6-2, 5-7, 7-5, 2-6, 6-4
  Pictured is James McGee of the BNP Paribas Irish Davis Cup team








Group II, Europe/Africa, Relegation Play-off

Date: 6th - 8th April 2012 

Venue: El Gezera Sporting Club, Cairo, Egypt  


Start Times:

Friday 6th April – 10.00 hrs local time (09.00 hrs GMT)

Karim M. Maamoun v James McGee
Followed by Sherif Sabry v Conor Niland

Saturday 7th April – 13.00 hrs local time (12.00 hrs GMT)

Maamoun/Sabry v Cluskey/ Niland

Sunday 8th April – 10.00 hrs local time (09.00 hrs GMT)

Karim M.Maamoun v Conor Niland
Followed by Sherif Sabry v James McGee




Conor Niland

James McGee

Sam Barry

James Cluskey

Captain: Garry Cahill



Kaarim-Mohamed Maamoun
Sherif Sabry
Omar Hedayet
Ramy Kamal Aita
Captain: Tamer El Sawy


Follow us on ...

FacebookFacebook Twitter@TennisIreland Twitter






Type Title Size Date
application/pdfDavis Cup Draw 2012 221 kbs21st September 2011